The mission of the Cape Elizabeth School Department is to “empower students with the academic, personal, and social knowledge and skills needed to build fulfilling and engaged lives.”  As the world changes, so too do the knowledge and skills demanded of our students.  To ensure the continued success of our mission, it is imperative that existing programs and practices be regularly reviewed, evaluated, and revised. 

  1. Each content area will develop curriculum that is aligned to the Maine Learning Results, including the Guiding Principles, and coordinated K-12.
  2. Administrators and faculty will be sensitive to changing conditions that may require modifications in curriculum.
  3. All programs and practices will be subject to ongoing review, evaluation, and revision to ensure that they meet the instructional needs of students.
  4. The school system will undertake intensive curriculum development as needed and provide the requisite resources, including instructional materials and professional development.
  5. The Superintendent and Director of Teaching and Learning will take the lead in setting district curricular goals in accordance with state mandates, educational research, and community values and aspirations, and in developing plans to achieve them.  Principals will be responsible for the implementation of curriculum in their schools.
  6. Curriculum development and revision will be accomplished with the appropriate involvement of administrators, faculty, students, community, and the Board.
  7. The Board will review and approve all substantive curriculum changes prior to implementation.
  8. The Superintendent and Director of Teaching Learning will report annually, or as otherwise requested, to the Board on the status of the curriculum.

Legal Reference:           20-A M.R.S.A. §§ 1001(6), 6209
                                    Ch. 127 § 5-7 (Me. Dept. of Ed. Rules)
ADOPTED:   June 9, 1992
Recoded:       June 1998
Revised:        November 8, 2005
                     September 10, 2013
                     September 12, 2017
Reviewed:      January 14, 2014

School Board Members 2019

Susana Measelle Hubbs - Chair
Heather Altenburg - Co-Vice Chair
Elizabeth Scifres
Kimberly Carr - Co-Vice Chair
Laura DeNino
M. Nasir Shir
Hope Straw
  1. Facebook
  2. YouTube
© 2019 Cape Elizabeth School Department - 320 Ocean House Road - Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107